High Five Friday – Books

At the time of writing this, I have read over 65 books for the year.

That’s the most books I have EVER read in a year.

It’s safe to say that I have plenty of book recommendations for the book lover in your life.

Here are the five books that I give a high five to.

The Lunar Chronicles

By Marissa Meyer

This collection of books are modern retellings of:

Book 1 – Cinder (Cinderella)
Book 2 – Scarlet (Little Red Riding Hood)
Book 3 – Cress (Rapunzel)
Book 3.5 – Fairest (The Evil Queen)
Book 4 – Winter (Snow White)

While these books are aimed at the young adult genre, I thoroughly enjoyed this series.

Fairest is a novella, so you can read it either in between Cress and Winter (chronologically), or you can read it after Winter.

Personally, I would recommend reading it after Winter. It won’t ruin Winter but will give you more insight into why she is the way she is.

Wonderful world and character building. Great for any reader that enjoyed the twilight series.


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

By V.E Schwab

You can find my full review of this book here.

It’s 1714 and Addie mistakingly makes a deal with the devil, because she doesn’t want to go into an arranged marriage.

For 300 years, she wanders the earth, trying to make a carve a life for herself and to leave an impression on the world.

Then one day she hears the words “I remember you”.


Project Hail Mary

By Andy Weir

From the same author that brought you The Martian (made into the 2015 award-winning film, starring Matt Damon), comes Project Hail Mary.

For my full review of this book go here.

Ryland Grace, wakes up alone in space, with no memory of why he is there.

All he remembers is that he has to save the world, but from what.

Little by little with flashbacks, we learn what Grace’s mission is, a with unlikely allies, he might just be able to save the world.


Anything But Fine

By Tobias Madden

LGTBQ+ young adult novel, and for fans of Red, White & Royal Blue.

Luca is a ballet dancer, but after a fall where he badly broke his leg, his dreams of attending the Australian Ballet School are crushed.

Then he finds out that he has to move schools.

New school, dance career over, making new friends, Luca couldn’t be at his lowest.

Then he meets Jordan, and things start to look up.


Outer Order Inner Calm

By Gretchen Rubin

If you are a fan of the Happier Podcast then this little self-help decluttering book is for you.

It’s the type of book that you can pick up and read in one sitting or just open up and read a random page.

When we clear clutter in our heads, hearts, and home, we can live more simply, freely with an abundance of happiness.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top