I don’t know when I became a tea drinker. I guess it would be because my parents are tea drinkers (they are both coffee drinkers too).
When I did start drinking tea, I was never too fussed with black tea, but I did enjoy herbal teas. Nowadays I drink both black and herbal.
Back in my fresh newbie tea drinking stage, I started off with peppermint tea, and then from there, I would try other teas. I remember coming across the Lipton Cranberry Raspberry and Strawberry tea a few years ago and enjoying it a lot.
So when I was at the supermarket a few weeks ago I bought tea to replenish my supply. I saw the Lipton CRS tea and well it just ‘fell into the basket’, so I had to buy it.
It sat in the pantry until recently when I had a desire to have a herbal tea that was not peppermint. So out came the Lipton CRS, I ripped open the wrapper, put the tea bag into my cup, and poured in the hot water.
I don’t know why I decided to look at the back of the tea bag packet, I just did. And there staring right in front of me were the ingredients, and in that list of ingredients was wheat.
— Matilda Iglesias (@MatildaIglesias) May 22, 2013
Wheat. What the hell! Why does Wheat need to be in a tea?! Does someone care to explain? I really don’t understand. I mean seriously…. wheat.
So yes I’m sad to report Lipton, that I won’t be buying this tea again.
And if you are wondering why? It’s because I eat Paleo/Sane. Which is gluten-free. Wheat is not gluten-free. I might not have an allergy to gluten, but I know my body and I know what happens to it when I have too much/many gluten products. I don’t need the extra stress of looking for a wheat product in tea, but obviously, now I do, because your tea is not Gluten Free friendly.
An ex-lover of your Cranberry Raspberry Tea